Becoming a Product Manager - May 2022

Progress made during May 2022

Since you have read my previous post about where I am from and my goals and objectives for the next 12 months (If you haven’t read it yet, click here, let's have a look at my progress thus far.

Firstly, I ended up spending an entire day looking at my OKRs, thinking to myself “Can I do this?”. I had to deal with a lot of dilemmas to realize that if I don't start with something, I will not end up where I want to be. Honestly, I still haven't figured out how I will manage to accomplish all 6 objectives of my mission while engaging in a full-time job, managing a startup, and expecting my baby girl by the end of May. Attached below is an image of the Mission and Core Objectives I have set under the OKR method.

Objectives for next 6 to 12 months.png

Let's create a small analogy here to further understand that it takes time to achieve any given target. This journey of mine is analysed with constructions. There are 11 stages you have to get through to build any kind of construction, (check this article for more information)

  1. Creating a concept and design
  2. Obtaining building permits
  3. Clearing and excavating the land
  4. Pouring the foundation
  5. Completing the framing
  6. Doing rough electrical and plumbing
  7. Installing the roof
  8. Taking care of heating and cooling needs
  9. Completing the interior
  10. Installing fixtures
  11. Finishing up

With the progress made during the first 15 days, I can conclude that I have successfully reached the 4th stage, which is “Pouring the Foundation”. This is the trickiest part, if you make a mistake without your knowledge, there is a higher chance you will end up either delaying your progress or building an unstable construction.

Foundation usually takes the longest time, and depending on the building you want to construct, the timeline varies. This needs to be engraved into your head or else you will not be able to give yourself the time. Although there are 6 major objectives in my mission, I decided to focus more on the following 3 at first.

  1. Launch my website
  2. Publish my UIUX Projects
  3. Learn 3 Programming Languages

The images displayed below will give you an idea of how I have constructed my plan to achieve the above 3 focus areas.

Publish UIUX Projects.png

Launch My Website.png

Learn 3 Programming Languages.png

In my opinion, these 3 major objectives are what I need to work on initially, which eventually covers all 4 major traits that a good product manager possesses,

  1. Well skilled in Project Management and communication
  2. Understanding Tech and Tech effort
  3. Ability to understand and create good UIUX
  4. Sound knowledge of Marketing and Trends

I have made decisions and broken down the objectives into mini objectives to make sure I celebrate my small wins and successes in this journey.