Becoming a Product Manager - April 2022

Update on the first few steps on my journey

Hey All, With the growing unstable situation in Sri Lanka, and the Sri Lankan Rupee floating around 330LKR per USD, economically it is tough to apply for a Master's Degree in the USA or UK. This has pushed me into looking at other options to learn and upskill myself to compete with the ever-growing technology industry.

I presently work as a Product Manager in an early stage startup company in Sri Lanka. Although I’m able to manage product teams effectively and efficiently, I have yet to experience more in this field. As per my knowledge, the following areas are crucial to be followed up with frequently;

  1. Knowledge in Marketing
  2. Understanding the trends in UI/UX
  3. Being up-to-date with commonly used programming languages
  4. Effective communication

My objective in the 6 to 12 months to come, is to try to become a Product Manager in one of the tech giants, like Twitter, Amazon, Google, or Meta(TAGM). To achieve this, I know I will need a bit of luck. But to be fortunate enough to pull this off, I will need to set a few basic objectives and key results (OKRs). The image below shows the game plan I have set to align myself to reach my ultimate goal (Quarter-wise OKRs will be shared with future articles).

Objectives for next 6 to 12 months.png

Watch this space for more updates.